Concealed Carry Permits

The Allen County Sheriff's Office accepts completed Ohio Concealed Carry applications from 8:00AM to 4:00PM, Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays. Completed applications must be submitted in person at the Allen County Sheriff's Office, Allen County Justice Center, CCW Section, 333 North Main St., Lima, Ohio 45801. Carrying a concealed weapon is a large responsibility. The Allen County Sheriff's Office will insure that each application is thoroughly checked, fingerprints are completed and the required background investigations are completed within the 45 days allowed by law. You are required by law to read through the Concealed Carry Booklet prior to signing the application. Make sure that you have everything required in order for the application process to run as smoothly as possible. After reading through the booklet, please be sure that you qualify as an applicant. Many criminal offenses will bar an applicant from obtaining a license. If you do not qualify as an applicant, and you continue with the application process, not only will you lose your non-refundable application fee, but you may also be subject to prosecution for Falsification to Obtain a Concealed Carry Handgun License which is a 4th degree felony.

Additional information about concealed carry may be found on the State of Ohio Attorney General's website by clicking on the link below. You can also download the applications and booklet from this site: http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Enforcement/Concealed-Carry

Standard Application Process

Before your application can be processed, you must have the following items:

  1. You must be at least 21 years of age, be a legal resident of the United States, be an Ohio resident for at least 45 days and a resident of Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Putnam or Van Wert County for 30 days.
  2. Application fee (listed below). No Credit or Debit Cards. This fee is non-refundable, even if you stop the application process for any reason. (If you are a retired peace officer, federal law enforcement officer or natural resources officer [ORC 109.77(B)(1)(b)], the fee requirement is waived. However, you must have documentation to show your date of retirement.)
  3. You must have your completed application. Do not sign the application until you present it to the office. You will sign it there in the presence of an Allen County Sheriff's Office Notary.
  4. You must have the original or photocopy of your firearms training certificate that shows that you have had the required training in the past 3 years. (6 years if retired or honorably discharged from the military.)
  5. If you were found at one time to be mentally incompetent, or were involuntarily hospitalized or institutionalized for other than observation, you must have a certificate of remission.
  6. You must provide a color photograph (head and shoulders passport type) taken within the past 30 days. If you do not have a photo, we can take one for an additional $5.00.
  7. You must have your fingerprints electronically scanned through the WebCheck system, or a 10 print fingerprint card if WebCheck is unavailable.
  8. In the interest of efficient fingerprinting, staff safety and reduction of infection, we ask that your hands not be overly dry, blistered or have cuts. Please moisturize your hands prior to arrival, but do not come in with an excessive amount of lotion on your hands
  9. You must also provide a valid picture identification card (driver's license, state identification card, retired law enforcement or corrections identification card or military identification card only). No school identification cards accepted.
  10. If you know you have a disqualifying offense, please don't even bother submitting the application.

Renewal Process

Before your license can be renewed, you must have the following items:

  1. Your application may be submitted no sooner than 90 days prior to the expiration of your current CCW license or anytime after the expiration of your current CCW license.
  2. You must be at least 21 years of age, be a legal resident of the United States, be an Ohio resident for at least 45 days and a resident of Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Putnam or Van Wert County for 30 days prior to filing your renewal application.
  3. Application fee (listed below). No Credit or Debit Cards. This fee is non-refundable, even if you stop the application process for any reason. (If you are a retired peace officer, federal law enforcement officer or natural resources officer [ORC 109.77(B)(1)(b)], the fee requirement is waived. However, you must have documentation to show your date of retirement.)
  4. If your prior license was issued from a county other than Allen County, you must provide a color photograph (head and shoulders passport type) taken within the past 30 days. If you do not have a photo, we can take one for an additional $5.00.
  5. You must have your completed application. Do not sign the application until you present it to the office. You will sign it there in the presence of an Allen County Sheriff's Office Notary.
  6. You must have a valid original license.
  7. If you were found at one time to be mentally incompetent, or were involuntarily hospitalized or institutionalized for other than observation, you must have a certificate of remission.
  8. You must have your fingerprints electronically scanned through the WebCheck system, or a 10 print fingerprint card if WebCheck is unavailable.
  9. You must also provide a valid picture identification card (driver's license, state identification card, retired law enforcement or corrections identification card or military identification card only). No school identification cards accepted.
  10. If your license has expired, you are prohibited from carrying a concealed weapon until you receive your renewal license from the Sheriff.
  11. If you know you have a disqualifying offense, please don't even bother submitting the application.

Temporary Emergency Application Process(License valid for only 90 days)

Before your temporary emergency application can be processed, you must have the following items:

  1. You must be at least 21 years of age, a legal resident of the United States and an Allen County resident.
  2. You must not have applied for or received a Temporary Emergency Concealed Carry Handgun License within the past four years.
  3. You must not be a fugitive from justice or subject to any of the same disqualifiers as for the standard concealed carry license.
  4. You must present "evidence of imminent danger" by either of the following:
    • A sworn statement under threat of perjury, that:
      1. You have reasonable cause to fear a criminal attack on you or a family member, and
      2. Such cause would justify a prudent person in going armed
    • A written document prepared by a government entity or public official describing the facts that establish reasonable the cause to fear, for example:
      1. TPO or CPO
      2. Court order with report
      3. A report made to or by a law enforcement agency or prosecutor
  5. Application fee (listed below). No Credit or Debit Cards. This fee is non-refundable, even if you stop the application process for any reason. (If you are a retired peace officer, federal law enforcement officer or natural resources officer [ORC 109.77(B)(1)(b)], the fee requirement is waived. However, you must have documentation to show your date of retirement.)
  6. You must have your completed application. Do not sign the application until you present it to the office. You will sign it there in the presence of an Allen County Sheriff's Office Notary. This is also an affidavit of imminent danger.
  7. You must provide a color photograph (head and shoulders passport type) taken within the past 30 days. If you do not have a photo, we can take one for an additional $5.00.
  8. You must have your fingerprints electronically scanned through the WebCheck system, or a 10 print fingerprint card if WebCheck is unavailable.
    • In the interest of efficient fingerprinting, staff safety and reduction of infection, we ask that your hands not be overly dry, blistered or have cuts. Please moisturize your hands prior to arrival, but do not come in with an excessive amount of lotion on your hands.
  9. You do not have to have to have a Firearms Training Certificate. This allows you to obtain the required training prior to applying for the standard license.
  10. If you know you have a disqualifying offense, please don't even bother submitting the application.

Upon submission of the completed application, the Sheriff shall immediately conduct a background check. When all of the background check results are submitted, the Sheriff shall immediately review results. If approved, the license information will be entered into LEADS and the license will immediately be issued. This process can take several days due to the required background checks. Do not expect to have your license the same day that you apply for it.

  • The denial and challenge process is the same as for the standard applications
  • The temporary emergency license is valid for 90 days only.
  • It may not be renewed.
  • It issued only one time in 4 years.
  • It must be carried at all times, along with your state issued identification, while carrying a concealed handgun.
  • The same rights and restrictions apply as for the standard concealed carry license.
  • The Sheriff may revoke or suspend a license, using same procedure.
  • The Sheriff may revoke the license, and charges may be filed, if information is discovered that the person is not eligible to possess a firearm under State or Federal Law.

Fee Schedule

No Debit or Credit Cards accepted.

Fee For Standard Concealed Carry License:

  • For an applicant who has resided in Ohio for five (5) years or more: $ 67.00
  • For an applicant who has resided in Ohio for less than five (5) years: $ 67.00 + $24.00 (FBI) fingerprint charge Total $ 91.00
  • For a renewal applicant who has resided in Ohio for five (5) years or more: $ 50.00
  • For a renewal applicant who has resided in Ohio for less than five (5) years: $ 50.00 + $24.00 (FBI) fingerprint charge Total $ 74.00
  • A replacement license: $ 15.00

Fee For Temporary Emergency Concealed Carry License :

  • For an applicant who has resided in Ohio for five (5) years or more: $ 37.00
  • For an applicant who has resided in Ohio for less than five (5) years: $ 37.00 + $24.00 (FBI) fingerprint charge Total $ 61.00
  • A replacement temporary license: $ 15.00

Fee for Application Photo

  • $5.00

Training Requirements

The training requirements for obtaining a concealed carry permit are very strict and mandated by the Ohio Revised Code. A list of the necessary training can be found in the Concealed Carry Booklet.

Disqualifiers

Felonies, drug convictions, offenses of violence (including Domestic Violence), protection orders and mental incompetence will disqualify you from obtaining a concealed carry permit. These disqualifiers are more fully explained in the Concealed Carry Booklet.

Forbidden Carry Zones

Various places may be posted with a sign prohibiting concealed weapons. A valid concealed carry permit does NOT allow a licensee to carry into those establishments. The concealed carry licensee is prohibited from carrying a concealed weapon in any of the places listed in the Concealed Carry Booklet even if the places are not posted with signs. Please do not put yourself in a situation by ignoring this section. The penalties are stiff.

Reciprocity with Other States

The State of Ohio has entered into reciprocity agreements with other states that provides for the recognition in this state of a license to carry a concealed handgun issued on a temporary or emergency basis by the other license-issuing state. This reciprocity is based upon whether the concealed carry eligibility requirements imposed by that license-issuing state are substantially comparable to the eligibility requirements for a concealed carry license issued in this state and whether that license-issuing state recognizes the Ohio concealed carry license.
Before entering into any other states with which we have reciprocity, or which recognizes Ohio’s permit without reciprocity, it is highly advisable that you check with that state to determine the exact requirements of carrying concealed in that state.

 

 

Contact Information

Allen County Sheriff’s Office - Concealed Carry Permits

Rhonda Montgomery

333 N. Main Street

P.O. Box 1243

Lima, OH 45802-1243

Business Phone: (419) 993-1412

Business Fax: (419) 227-2004

montgomery@acso-oh.us